Posted in Uncategorized

161 CW1 – Resit

Task 1: Use Photoshop to develop an online ‘brand’ identity for you or your production company. This should either be a logo or a header for your blog.

IMG_1728 (1) copy.png

 

This is my logo I have created for my brand. It consists of the shape of Africa with a female freedom fighter within the continent.

I wanted something that represents me and what I believe in, because my parents were raised in Eritrea and Ethiopia so its a place I consider home and part of my identity.

In third world countries women can sometimes be at the bottom of the hierarchy, gender roles can be emphasized and because of their gender they may not even have a primary school education. That is why I want my brand to highlight the neglected women of Africa.

My idea came from various sources and one was the fact that 40% of freedom fighters for the struggle for Eritrea’s independence were women which I find remarkable. Male and females fought together on the frontline for a greater purpose. However, England are only planning to do this is 2016! 2016!! and England is supposed to be the developed country…

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 3.22.49 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 3.22.35 PM.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

8e7d68d3d60d5eb38d22e617999fb627.jpg

 

This Iconic Eritrean Imagine spoke to Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 3.35.29 PM.pngme and inspired my logo along with the African continent shape. I drew the design on a piece of paper, took a photo then transferred it photoshop.
Then I used the pen tool to outline my logo and colored in in within photoshop, after I was happy with it I deleted the original image to get to my finished product.Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 3.40.00 PM.png

 

It is important for an institution to have a logo because when people become familiar with it the more successful your company is likely to become.

My production company will not be for the mass as the gun in the logo indicate that it isn’t suitable for children. The company will be based on documentaries mainly connected to Africa spanning from issues like war and immigration to the achievements Africans are making.

 

ELISABETH PERLMAN. (2016). U.K. TO LIFT BAN ON WOMEN FIGHTING ON THE FRONTLINE. Available: http://europe.newsweek.com/uk-lift-ban-women-fighting-frontline-432954. Last accessed 17th jun 2016.

 

Task 2: Remix content found on the Internet to tell a new story – combine (mash), re- edit and deliver them on a new platform to tell a new story. Upload your remix to Vimeo or Youtube. Your final film should be 2-3 minutes in length.

My remix is inspired by Donald trumps controversy, Many people love him and many more hate him because he can sometimes say some ridiculous things. Well that is my opinion, whereas some people feel he is being honest and upfront saying things people may be thinking.

I just wanted to put emphasis on how I see him and show the world what I hear and interpret from when he speaks.

 

I’ve also made a remix on Michelle Obama dancing to Ethiopian Music, Its will be for a niche audience because they will have better understanding of the parody.

 

Task 3:  Web 2.0 Storytelling – Choose a ‘classic’ narrative from myth or fairytale. Research the story.

Romeo & Juliet, digital story

I wanted to make a modernized version of Romeo & Juliet set during the age of web 2.0 because I feel it would be very humorous. Ive adapted the language so they have used slang instead. I felt is was a good option as many people should be familiar with Shakespeare’s ‘Romeo & Juliet’

It is interesting that even though the setting of the story has changed the moral stays the same. Dying for love as these raw human emotions never change no matter how much technology advances. This conforms in my mind the idea that there are 7 basic plots used over and over through out time and I have just played a part in that with this digital story.

 

Vine

Leave a Reply

