Posted in 260 MC, Uncategorized

Soundscape & Remake

‘This week we want you to generate a one-minute soundscape made using originally captured sound.’

My first soundscape was the lyrics to the song Eternal Sunshine by Jhene Aiko, I spent quite a lot of time trying to think of a poem to do because I was struggling to create a soundscape, I just couldn’t get the imagery in my mind.

 

I used the Edirol R05 which was my first time using that particular recorder, I put an external microphone in and it was quite sensitive, it would pick up noise excess and unwanted noise so I had to find a quiet place to record. Another problem I encountered it that even with the filter the words with P’s and T’s were still quite dominant. It was just a case knowing how much to distance myself mic.

“Films are 50 percent visual and 50 percent sound. Sometimes sound even overplays the visual.”

David Lynch a surrealist filmmaker emphasises the importance of sound to the point where he feels it may even be more important than visuals and now I agree with him. Doing the sound workshops and making my own soundscape  I’ve realised how much influence it has on the films, you can literally change a genre of a film with the music alone.

I’ve also learnt that if nobody notices the sound it means you have done a good job, it needs to flow with no sudden cuts and has to be at the right levels if you want a good experience for the audience.

I had to do a remake of the soundscape because even though I captured the majority of the sounds I had also layered one or two of my sounds with existing royalty free sounds because first time round when I showed people they couldn’t tell what sound it was. This wasn’t part of the brief so I did another poem and recorded every single sound you hear within it.

I felt like if I did a topic which I care about especially because of the fact that I was raised in Tottenham, it would give me more enthusiasm to make something better than the last. This was inspired by the 2011 Tottenham Riots, even though this was a disaster it was also the first time in a long time the community came together. Also, it was an opportunity for local artists whether it be painting, music or poetry, people voiced their pain in their own way.

This was inspired by the 2011 Tottenham Riots, even though this was a disaster it was also the first time in a long time the community came together. Also, it was an opportunity for local artists whether it be painting, music or poetry, people voiced their pain in their own way.

I got it from a Poets blog called Anthony Wilson, he writes blogs that the working class people are more likely to relate to rather than . As soon I read ‘ The Burning of the houses’ from his life savings poems collection, immediately  I could hear the sounds in my head.

The main constant sound throughout the whole piece was the street with the cars and people passing by, it was seriously much easier capturing sound than I thought, I just stood outside Coventry University and pointed my Mic and allowed the natural sounds to play itself. I had other little sounds like the lighter to emphasise Tottenham being on fire, or social networking sounds when I talk about twitter even the typing from my keyboard.

I picked to remake this task out of all my other tasks despite their flaws because I enjoyed taking time, thinking about every little detail and every layer to build one strong piece, knowing that it will be equally or even more important than the visuals.

 

Bibliography 

Anthony Wilson. (JANUARY 7, 2015). Lifesaving Poems: Chrissy Williams’s ‘The Burning of the Houses’ . Available: https://anthonywilsonpoetry.com/tag/london-riots-poems/. Last accessed 2016.

Michael Zager (,). Writing Music For Commercials, Television, Radio AND NEW MEDIA. 3rd ed. New York: Rowman & LittleField. 264.

The Films of David Lynch:. Available: http://www.britishfilm.org.uk/lynch/Sintro.html. Last accessed 2016.

 

 

Leave a Reply

